Carabao Cup third round draw as Man Utd and Arsenal to discover opponents

Ange Postecoglou defends decision to make changes as Tottenham exit Carabao Cup

The Carabao Cup third round is upon us as the likes of Manchester United and Arsenal will now enter the competition. Just 32 teams will be left in the draw as they find out their opponents tonight, following the completion of an action-packed second round as they hope to reach the final in Wembley – this year on February 25.

Those involved in European campaigns were given a bye through the first two stages, but now the holders United return as they look to defend last season’s victory. Arsenal, Manchester City, Newcastle, West Ham, Brighton and Aston Villa are all involved with no restrictions – after the first two rounds had been regionalised draws.

There have been some early shocks already, as Tottenham were dumped out of the competition by Fulham after a penalty shoot-out. Crystal Palace, Brentford and Luton all went through but not without their struggles, while Leeds crashed out on spot-kicks away to Salford.

For full details of the third round and live updates of the draw, Express Sport has you covered as the second round continues to play out and teams discover their next opponents.

JUST IN Carabao Cup third round draw, dates and info as Man Utd and Arsenal enter pot[LATEST]

When is the draw?

Tonight’s draw will take place following Doncaster’s home tie with Everton and is expected to start at 10.15pm, though that could be delayed depending on what time the match finishes.

When is the third round?

The matches are just around the corner as teams will only have to wait for the week commencing September 5 to face their opponents and attempt to reach the fourth round.

Who is in the third round?

Here are the ball numbers for the third round:

1) AFC Bournemouth

2) Arsenal

3) Aston Villa

4) Bradford City

5) Brentford

6) Brighton and Hove Albion

7) Cardiff City

8) Crystal Palace

9) Exeter City

10) Fulham

11) Ipswich Town

12) Leicester City

13) Liverpool

14) Luton Town

15) Manchester City

16) Manchester United

17) Mansfield Town

18) Middlesbrough

19) Norwich City

20) Newcastle United

21) Peterborough United

22) Port Vale

23) Salford City

24) Stoke City

25) Sutton United

26) West Ham United

27) Wolverhampton Wanderers

28) Chelsea or AFC Wimbledon

29) Doncaster Rovers or Everton

30) Harrogate Town or Blackburn Rovers

31) Nottingham Forest or Burnley

32) Sheffield United or Lincoln City

Good evening

Hello and welcome to Express Sport’s live coverage of the Carabao Cup third round draw.

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Source: Read Full Article