England name unchanged squad for first Test against Pakistan following victory over West Indies

England national selectors have named an unchanged squad for the first Test match against Pakistan following the series victory over West Indies on Tuesday.

The series against Pakistan, which begins on 5 August at Emirates Old Trafford, will be played behind closed doors in a bio-secure environment.

National selector Ed Smith said: “After three Tests in quick succession against the West Indies, we now turn to an equally condensed Test series against Pakistan, with 15 days of Test cricket scheduled in a three-week period. Our 14-man squad is unchanged.

Download the new Independent Premium app

Sharing the full story, not just the headlines

“County cricket now restarts on Saturday 1 August. We want to have sufficient reserves inside the biosecure Test match ‘bubble’, but we may also want to give opportunities, where possible, for the reserves to play county cricket.

“As we seek the best balance here, England may make changes to the reserves during the three-match series against Pakistan.”

The squad and reserves are to report to Emirates Old Trafford on 2 August.

England Test Squad:

Joe Root (Yorkshire) [Captain], James Anderson (Lancashire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Dominic Bess (Somerset), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).


James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Jack Leach (Somerset), Dan Lawrence (Essex).

Source: Read Full Article