England name SEVEN uncapped players in ODI squad

Ed Smith backs Alex Hales’ ongoing international exile as England name SEVEN uncapped players in 24-man ODI squad for Ireland series with Test stars absent

  • England have named a 24-strong behind-closed-doors training group
  • They will go into camp at Ageal Bowl this month for three ODIs against Ireland
  • Test stars have been omitted due to the current series against West Indies
  • Jonny Bairstow and Moeen Ali included after being cut from the Test squad 

National selector Ed Smith has backed England’s stance on Alex Hales after he was left out of a new-look 24-man training squad ahead of three one-day internationals against Ireland.

Eoin Morgan is yet to forgive Hales for almost ‘derailing’ England’s World Cup bid last summer after he was banned for failing two drugs tests.

Smith said: ‘I have nothing to add to what Eoin Morgan said about Alex. We know how good a player he is. We know where he stands. 

England have included seven uncapped players for their ODI series against Ireland

But there is still no place for batsman Alex Hales as his international exile continues

Ben Stokes is among the Test stars to have been omitted due to the truncated season

E Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, J Bairstow, T Banton, S Billings, H Brookes, B Carse, T Curran, L Dawson, B Duckett, L Evans, R Gleeson, L Gregory, S Hain, T Helm, L Livingstone, S Mahmood, M Parkinson, A Rashid, J Roy, P Salt, R Topley, J Vince, D Willey

‘That’s the situation. We know what happened. Eoin’s been very clear about his comments. We support that.’

The England squad, which will go into a biosecure training camp at the Ageas Bowl next Thursday ahead of the first game against Ireland on July 30, includes seven players without international experience: seamers Henry Brookes, Brydon Carse, Tom Helm and Richard Gleeson, plus batsmen Laurie Evans, Sam Hain and Phil Salt.

Liam Livingstone and Lewis Gregory are uncapped in ODI cricket, but have featured for England in Twenty20 in the past. 

There’s also room for injury-hit left-arm seamer Reece Topley, who hasn’t played for England since the 2016 World T20 in India, and David Willey, who was replaced late on in last year’s World Cup 15 by Jofra Archer.

The team will be coached by Paul Collingwood, as revealed by Sportsmail last year, and does not include any members of the current Test bubble.

David Willey returns for the first time since he was dropped ahead of last year’s World Cup

Jonny Bairstow is included after he was dropped from England’s Test squad last week

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article