Man Utd and Arsenal wonderkids named on 40-man shortlist for Golden Boy award

Manchester United and Arsenal players are among those in with a shout of winning the Golden Boy award this year.

The full 40-man list was released today, with some big-name players already included.

Every year, the trophy is handed out to the best young player in Europe – as voted for by sport journalists around the continent.

It goes to the youngster who has impressed the most over the course of the calendar year, over the course of two seasons.

Entries must be under 21 and play in one of the top divisions in Europe, including England, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Italy and France.

The prize was first established by Tuttosport in 2003 with Raphael van der Vaart winning the inaugural trophy.

Some big-name stars have lifted the award and gone on to have incredible careers including Lionel Messi, Wayne Rooney and Sergio Aguero.

More recent recipients include Erling Haaland, Kylian Mbappe and Joao Felix – but the prize could be heading to the Premier League this year with players from United and Arsenal included.

Mason Greenwood has had a fantastic year, continuing where he left off from last season to continue his prowess in front of goal.

The England international has already scored three times, adding to his total of 12 from the 2020/21 campaign.

As for Arsenal, Bukayo Saka has continued his rise to prominence becoming a central figure to Mikel Arteta's plans despite just turning 20 this month.

Jude Bellingham of Borussia Dortmund and Leicester ace Luke Thomas make up the English contingent on the 40-man list.

While there are a number of other Premier League starlets included such as Arsenal's Gabriel Martinelli, Tottenham winger Bryan Gil and Rayan Ait-Nouri of Wolves.

The Gunners have another player to keep an eye on in the form of William Saliba – currently on loan to OGC Nice in Ligue 1.

But they face stiff competition with some real breakout stars listed with the likes of Eduardo Camavinga, Jamal Musiala, Pedri and Nuno Mendes also in the running.

Who should win the Golden Boy award this year? Comment below

Full list

Jude Bellingham – Borussia Dortmund

Karim Adeyemi – RB Salzburg

Rayan Ait-Nouri – Wolves

Ander Barrenetxea – Real Sociedad

Myron Boadu – Monaco

Brian Brobbey – RB Leipzig

Eduardo Camavinga – Real Madrid

Rayan Cherki – Lyon

Mohamed-Ali Cho – Angers

Francisco Conceicao – Porto

Jamal Musiala – Bayern Munich

Charles De Ketelaere – Club Brugge

Ersin Destanoglu – Besiktas

Jeremy Doku – Rennes

Eric Garcia – Barcelona

Bryan Gil – Tottenham Hotspur

Goncalo Ramos – Benfica

Ryan Gravenberch – Ajax

Mason Greenwood – Manchester United

Josko Gvardiol – RB Leipzig

Pedri – Barcelona

Ilaix Moriba – RB Leipzig

Odilon Kossounou – Bayer Leverkusen

Noni Madueke – PSV

Felix Mambimbi – Young Boys

Gabriel Martinelli – Arsenal

Mykhaylo Mudryk – Shakhtar Donetsk

Mohamed Ihattaren – Sampdoria

Nuno Mendes – Paris Saint-Germain

Roberto Piccoli – Atalanta

Bukayo Saka – Arsenal

Yeremi Pino – Villarreal

Gio Reyna – Borussia Dortmund

William Saliba – Marseille

Martin Satriano – Inter Milan

Luke Thomas – Leicester City

Khephren Thuram – OGC Nice

Jurrien Timber – Ajax

Florian Wirtz – Leverkusen

Ilya Zabarnyi – Dynamo Kyiv

Source: Read Full Article