Red Bull Holden’s van Gisbergen triumphs at Bathurst

New Zealander Shane van Gisbergen finally got the Bathurst monkey off his back after he and his co-driver Garth Tander charged to victory in a dramatic and incident-packed finale at Mount Panorama.

The Red Bull Holden Racing star triumphed in Australia's greatest race for the first time having gone agonisingly close on several other occasions – no more so than in 2016, when he finished just 0.1 second behind the Will Davison and Jonathan Webb Commodore, and last year when he was runner up at just 0.7 seconds behind the Scott McLaughlin/Alex Premat Mustang.

King of the mountain: Shane van Gisbergen in the Red Bull Holden Racing Team Holden Commodore.Credit:Getty Images

Second home was the Mustang of Cameron Waters and Davison, who had begun the race from pole position, while the third step of the podium was filled by Chaz Mostert and Warren Luff in another Commodore.

Bathurst always delivers drama and tension, heartbreak and an unpredictable narrative, and this year was no exception with safety car interventions in the last nine laps ensuring the result was in the balance right until the final seconds.

Straight and narrow: Holden driver leads the field down the famous Conrod Straight at Mount Panorama.Credit:Edge Photographics

Most Viewed in Sport

Source: Read Full Article