F1 driver line-up 2022: All team changes IN FULL – Mercedes, Williams, Alfa Romeo shake-up

George Russell joins Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The F1 season is almost coming to an end, with just three races to go in 2021. All 10 teams have now revealed their driver line-ups for the new campaign, with changes at Mercedes, Williams and Alfa Romeo.

Alfa Romeo was the last team to confirm its driver line-up for the 2022 season.

Chinese 22-year-old Guanyu Zhou was added to Alfa’s roster, in place of Antonio Giovinazzi.

Zhou will become China’s first-ever full-time F1 driver, after impressing in F2.

He was in second place in the F2 Drivers’ Championship when his place was confirmed in F1, only behind Oscar Piastri.

Elsewhere, Valtteri Bottas will be leaving Mercedes after five years, it was confirmed earlier this year.

The 32-year-old will be heading to Alfa Romeo, to partner youngster Zhou.

Kimi Raikkonen will be leaving Alfa – as well as F1 – as he’s retiring at the end of the 2021 season.

The Fin won a single title with Ferrari back in 2007, winning the trophy by a single point.


Max Verstappen gives new view on Lewis Hamilton incident [LATEST]
Max Verstappen’s swipe at Lewis Hamilton: ‘Easy to blame me’ [QUOTES]
Lewis Hamilton gives view on Toto Wolff’s passionate reaction [NEWS]

Bottas will be replaced at Mercedes by young Brit George Russell, who moves from Williams.

Russell had long been expected to drive for Mercedes, and even stepped in to replace Lewis Hamilton last season when he tested positive for Covid.

Williams will be adding Alex Albon to its roster for the 2022 season.

Albon last raced in F1 for Red Bull, finishing seventh in the drivers’ leaderboard.

F1 drivers’ line-up for 2022 – in FULL

Mercedes: Lewis Hamilton and George Russell

Red Bull: Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez

Ferrari: Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz

McLaren: Lando Norris and Daniel Ricciardo

Alpine: Fernando Alonso and Esteban Ocon

AlphaTauri: Pierre Gasly and Yuki Tsunoda

Aston Martin: Sebastian Vettel and Lance Stroll

Williams: Alex Albon and Nicholas Latifi

Alfa Romeo: Valtteri Bottas and Guanyu Zhou

Haas: Nikita Mazepin and Mick Schumacher

2022 F1 calendar (provisional)

20 March: Bahrain (Sakhir)

27 March: Saudi Arabia (Jeddah)

10 April: Australia (Melbourne)

24 April: Emilia Romagna (Imola)

8 May: Miami (Miami)

22 May: Spain (Barcelona)

29 May: Monaco (Monaco)

12 June: Azerbaijan (Baku)

19 June: Canada (Montreal)

3 July: Great Britain (Silverstone)

10 July: Austria (Spielberg)

24 July: France (Le Castellet)

31 July: Hungary (Budapest)

28 August: Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)

4 September: Netherlands (Zandvoort)

11 September: Italy (Monza)

25 September: Russia (Sochi)

2 October: Singapore (Marina Bay)

9 October: Japan (Suzuka)

23 October: USA (Austin)

30 October: Mexico (Mexico City)

13 November: Brazil (Sao Paulo)

20 November: Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)

Source: Read Full Article